Skip to main content
Medclaim Services Logo

Specialties

Pain Management Billing Services

Interventional pain practices bill the same procedures again and again, under coverage policies that spell out how often each one may be repeated, what relief must be documented before the next step, and when imaging guidance is already part of the code. Getting those rules right is the difference between a steady procedure schedule and a growing pile of medical necessity denials.

  • Imaging guidance billed only where the code does not already include it
  • Diagnostic block results documented before radiofrequency ablation
  • Urine drug testing coded presumptive or definitive with medical necessity

Coverage policies run the pain management schedule

For spinal injections, payers rarely question whether a procedure exists; they question whether this patient qualified for it this time. Medicare contractors' facet joint coverage policies, for example, require two diagnostic medial branch blocks with significant relief before radiofrequency ablation is covered, and limit how often treatments can be repeated. Commercial policies tend to follow a similar logic with their own thresholds.

Imaging is the next trap. Many spine injection codes include fluoroscopic or CT guidance in their descriptors, and NCCI states that guidance codes such as 77003 are not reported separately with the epidural codes that include it. Level, side and bilateral reporting vary by code family too.

Pain practices that manage long-term medication also bill urine drug testing, which has its own code structure and its own medical necessity rules. Coverage policies treat blanket orders, the same tests ordered for every patient, as not reasonable and necessary.

Injection, ablation and drug testing codes

Code families most pain management claims depend on, with the bundling and level rules that apply.

Pain management procedure and testing codes with billing notes
CodesProcedureBilling notes
62320 to 62323Interlaminar epidural injections: cervical or thoracic (62320, 62321) and lumbar or sacral (62322, 62323), without or with imaging guidance.The with-imaging codes include fluoroscopy or CT, so guidance is not billed separately.
64479 to 64484Transforaminal epidural injections by spinal region, first level and each additional level.Imaging guidance is included; additional levels use the add-on codes.
64490 to 64495Facet joint injections or medial branch blocks with imaging guidance, by region and level.Bilateral procedures are reported with modifier 50, and the levels billed must fit the coverage policy.
64633 to 64636Radiofrequency ablation of facet joint nerves, cervical or thoracic and lumbar or sacral.Coverage generally requires documented relief from diagnostic blocks first.
27096Sacroiliac joint injection with imaging guidance.Guidance is included in the code.
20552, 20553Trigger point injections: one or two muscles, and three or more muscles.Coded by the number of muscles injected; all injections into those muscles are included.
80305 to 80307, G0480 to G0483Presumptive drug screening by method, and definitive drug testing by number of drug classes (Medicare G-codes).Each test needs an order for the individual patient and documented medical necessity; commercial payers may use other definitive testing codes.

CPT is a registered trademark of the American Medical Association.

Official sources: CMS Medicare Coverage Database: LCD L38801 (facet joint interventions) (external site), CMS Medicare Coverage Database: article A58993 (epidural steroid injections) (external site), CMS Medicare Coverage Database: article A58403 (facet joint interventions) (external site), CMS Medicare Coverage Database: LCD L36029 (drug testing) (external site), CMS Medicare Coverage Database: NCD 160.7 (electrical nerve stimulators) (external site), CMS NCCI Policy Manual, chapter 8 (nervous system) (external site), CMS NCCI Policy Manual, chapter 10 (pathology and laboratory) (external site), CMS: coverage database article export (external site), CMS coverage database: article A57701 (external site)

Why pain procedures get denied

  • Imaging billed with codes that include it

    77003 or ultrasound guidance added to an epidural, facet or SI joint code that already includes guidance.

  • Ablation without qualifying diagnostic blocks

    The record does not show two diagnostic blocks with the required level of relief, recorded with a pain scale.

  • Repeat procedures inside the frequency limit

    A repeat injection or ablation billed sooner than the coverage policy allows, or without documented benefit from the last one.

  • Level and side coding errors

    Too many levels in one session, wrong add-on codes, or a bilateral procedure reported in the wrong format.

  • Definitive drug tests ordered for everyone

    Standing orders and fixed panels without an individual reason for each patient's test.

  • Missing procedure authorization

    Epidurals, facet procedures, ablation and spinal cord stimulator trials are frequent authorization targets.

How we keep pain claims compliant

  1. Step 1: Build a coverage calendar per patient

    Dates of prior blocks, ablations and their documented relief are tracked, so the next procedure is scheduled inside policy.

  2. Step 2: Check guidance bundling

    Every procedure line is checked for whether imaging is included before guidance codes are added.

  3. Step 3: Authorize with the history attached

    Requests include prior conservative care, diagnostic block results and imaging, the details payers ask for most.

  4. Step 4: Audit drug testing orders

    Testing claims are checked for an individualized order and a documented reason before they go out.

Spinal cord stimulation and other advanced procedures

Spinal cord stimulator trials and permanent implants carry the heaviest documentation load in pain management. Medicare's national coverage policy, for example, requires psychological screening, a documented failure of other treatments and a successful trial before the permanent implant. The trial and the implant are separate authorizations, often with the facility, the surgeon and the device on different claims.

Because these cases involve several parties, we confirm who is billing what before the procedure: the professional service, the facility fee and, where it applies, the device. That avoids the duplicate and missing claims that are common with implant procedures.

Frequently asked questions

Can we bill fluoroscopy separately for an epidural injection?

Not for the epidural codes that include imaging guidance: NCCI states that 77003 is not reported separately with them.

What documentation do payers want before radiofrequency ablation?

Usually two diagnostic medial branch blocks at the same levels, each with a documented level of pain relief, plus a history of failed conservative care. Medicare contractors' policies set specific relief thresholds, which we check in the current policy for your region.

How often can facet procedures be repeated?

Coverage policies limit both the number of sessions per year and the minimum gap between them, and repeats usually require documented improvement from the last treatment. The exact limits depend on the payer.

How should urine drug tests be coded?

Presumptive screening is coded by method, and definitive testing by the number of drug classes tested. Medicare uses G0480 to G0483 for definitive tests, and each test needs an individual reason documented.

Do pain procedures need prior authorization?

Commonly, yes, for epidurals, facet procedures, ablation and stimulator trials, and the approval has to match the levels and codes performed. Requirements vary by plan.

Are your pain procedures within policy?

A free audit checks guidance bundling, repeat-procedure denials and drug testing claims across your pain management schedule.